Tshabangu remembers three CCC councilors

The questioned interim general secretary of the Coalition of Citizens for Change (CCC), Sengezo Tshabangu, has dismissed three councilors from Matabeleland North province.

According Eye of the SouthThe councilors are Noliya Dube and Julia Mumpande of Binga Rural District Council, and Maria Phiri of Victoria Falls Municipality.

In an advisory, Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) chief electoral officer Utloile Silaigwana confirmed the dismissals. It reads in part:

The public is therefore notified that the Commission has received notifications, in writing, of vacancies on the party list for Binga Rural District Council and Victoria Falls Municipality due to the removal of the incumbent members of the respective local authorities…

Tshabangu began removing MPs and councilors from the CCC in October 2023, after claiming to be the party’s acting general secretary.

With the help of state institutions such as Parliament, Tshabangu took control of the CCC, forcing party leader Nelson Chamisa to leave the party in frustration in January 2024.

Through recalls and subsequent by-elections, ZANU PF managed to achieve a two-thirds majority in the National Assembly that it had failed to achieve in the 2023 general election.

More: Pindula News


Leave a comment

Generate a WhatsApp message

Buy phones on credit.

More offers


pendulaPindula app

Related Articles

Back to top button