India team for FIFA World Qualifier against Kuwait: Gogoi and Hammad miss out due to injuries

Sunil Chhetri (right) of India.

Sunil Chhetri (right) of India. | Photo credit: AFP

Striker Parthib Gogoi and defender Muhammad Hammad were left out due to injuries when India announced a 27-member squad for the World Cup qualifier against Kuwait on June 6, which would mark the end of the captain’s international career. and star striker Sunil Chhetri.

The squad for the match to be held in Calcutta was announced by coach Igor Stimac.

A total of 32 players had been camping in Bhubaneswar, of which five (Phurba Lachenpa, Parthib, Imran Khan, Hammad and Jithin MS) have been released from the camp.

“All of them were very professional and hard-working. The competition is really strong between them, especially in the Jithin and Parthib positions,” Stimac said in a press release.

“Parthib and Hammad suffered minor injuries a few days ago and will need between 7 and 14 days of rest,” he added without specifying the nature of the injuries.

The remaining players will continue training in Bhubaneswar until May 29, when they will travel to Kolkata.

The Blue Tigers will take on Kuwait in the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan on June 6.

After the match against Kuwait, India will travel to face Qatar on June 11 in their final two Group A matches.

India is currently second in the group, with four points from four matches.

The top two teams in the group will qualify for Round 3 of the FIFA World Cup qualifiers and reserve their place for the AFC Asian Cup Saudi Arabia 2027.

Chhetri, 39, announced his decision to retire from international football on May 17.

The match against Kuwait will bring the curtain down on a brilliant 19-year career during which he became India’s top scorer with 94 goals.

He will leave the scene as India’s most capped player after competing in 151 matches at the end of his swan song contest.

Chhetri will be third in the scoring list among active players behind Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

He currently ranks fourth on the all-time list of international scorers.

The escuadron

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Vishal Kaith.

Defenders: Amey Ranawade, Anwar Ali, Jay Gupta, Lalchungnunga, Mehtab Singh, Narender, Nikhil Poojary, Rahul Bheke, Subhasish Bose.

Midfielders: Anirudh Thapa, Brandon Fernandes, Edmund Lalrindika, Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Liston Colaco, Mahesh Singh Naorem, Nandhakumar Sekar, Sahal Abdul Samad, Suresh Singh Wangjam.

Forward: David Lalhlansanga, Manvir Singh, Rahim Ali, Sunil Chhetri, Vikram Partap Singh.

Related Articles

Back to top button